Conversations: At Target

Yes, I know my hands are full. Why do you think we all have Starbucks?

Yes, I do know my hands are full. That is why we all have Starbucks. 

The other day, I was on a mission at Target. I had the big kids in the triple cart (whoever created that is a genius and I am so thankful!) and Hazel strapped on my back. I was fueled by caffeine and the kids were quiet thanks to dairy and caffeine free “happy-chinos” (as Miles calls them). Armed with my list, I had 30 minutes to get everything I needed and back in the car.

I was almost done with my list and preparing to make the mad dash for the check out lines when a grandma aged woman stopped me. Cringing inwardly, I politely smiled and sent up a quick prayer that she wouldn’t be rude. Ever since Hazel was born, I’ve had complete strangers actually track me down in stores to glibly inform me that my hands were full. I braced myself to put on a smile and respond with, “Hands full is a good life” or something like that.

Instead, she smiled at me and said I was doing good. She raised three children and shopping with them had been her most dreaded chore. Other moments were good, but shopping was never one of them. She even confessed to refusing to shop with her own grandkids! Then, she waved at the kids, encouraged them to be kind, and went on her way.

Thank you, kind grandma, for your encouragement. Hearing that was exactly what I needed.

 

 

Linking up with The Parent ‘Hood this morning.

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. This made me smile. I, too, have three children, and shopping with them is the worst. I have also had grandma types tell me that my children are well behaved and that I’m doing a great job with them–I don’t always believe them, but it’s so nice of them to make the effort to reach out, y’know? We must remember this when we are grandmothers, to encourage the mommies we see…

    Reply
  2. I love that so much!! What a wonderful woman. She is right too, you are doing a great job.

    Reply
  3. Don’t you LOVE that?!? Tiny bursts of encouragement like that will make my whole day.

    And yes – you done good. 🙂

    Reply
  4. You are amazing and hurray for a happy grandma that is smart enough to not be stupid!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

