Chocolate Peanut Butter Muffins

Gluten free chocolate muffins

Truly, these are delicious and you’d never know they were gluten free. I’ve made this recipe two times in the past eight days in an attempt to photograph them and they were eaten before I could snap a decent picture! They are that good.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Muffins

1/2 cup butter or coconut oil
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3/4 cup peanut butter or almond butter
4 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup chocolate chips (optional)

While your oven is preheating 350, gently melt together butter and honey. Whisk in cocoa powder and peanut butter until smooth. Then whisk in cocoa powder and peanut butter until smooth. It will be the consistency of hot fudge sauce. Continue to whisk in the eggs (I beat them in a separate bowl before adding) and baking soda.

Pour 1/4 cup of batter into standard sized muffin tins. This should yield exactly 12 muffins. You could just grease them, but I would encourage you to use a paper liner.

Bake for 18-22 minutes until done. It only took 18 in my temperamental oven.

I used butter and peanut butter in my recipe but I’m sure coconut oil and any sort of nut or seed butter would be delicious. I haven’t added chocolate chips, since I’m using these as an on the go breakfast for the kids (the holy horror mess chocolate chips make in a car seat is enough to push me over the edge!), but I can just imagine what a decedent addition they would be. Or what about soft dried cherries with chocolate chips? That makes me think of Valentines day.

My kids snarf these down ASAP and I found Miles actually gathering crumbs up off the floor to make sure he had every last bite.

Recipe adapted from Gluten Free Fix

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Jen

     /  September 24, 2012

    You need a picture of this so I can pin it!! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

